You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
Suppress Background Calls Until Consent is Given #46
Summary:
Websites have tracking calls that fire immidiately when a user visits the site. Many of these will require that consent is given before they can fire.
Acceptance Criteria:
As an advertiser/publisher, I should be able to set a toggle in the CMP config file that activates a suppression feature
-If the feature is activated, tracking calls will be suppressed until the user has given consent to be tracked (either in the CMP window or by retrieving their previously given consent information)
-If the feature is deactivated, all background activity continues as it would otherwise
Details:
We want to make sure that advertisers/publishers have the option to selectively continue background activity that does not involve PII
Not quite sure if this is possible in JS. If it is, it would be very easy to hijack a browser's functionality on a malicious page. Instead, Henry and I have been throwing around the idea of a redirectUrl configuration param. If that option is specified and the CMP needs to be shown, it will kick the user to the redirectUrl with ?originalPage=(whatever) appended to the url. When consent is given, the user gets redirected back to the original page URL and the CMP will see the consent record and not show itself.
Activity
SupahNickie commentedon May 24, 2018
Not quite sure if this is possible in JS. If it is, it would be very easy to hijack a browser's functionality on a malicious page. Instead, Henry and I have been throwing around the idea of a redirectUrl configuration param. If that option is specified and the CMP needs to be shown, it will kick the user to the redirectUrl with
?originalPage=(whatever)appended to the url. When consent is given, the user gets redirected back to the original page URL and the CMP will see the consent record and not show itself.BartVB commentedon Oct 7, 2019
It's possible with something like:
https://www.npmjs.com/package/yett
But it's much, much cleaner if you deal with this yourself. Only call this javascript when the user has given consent.
@SupahNickie; that's a possibility but I'm guessing that this leads to a (much) lower consent rate, depending on your site.